PDA

View Full Version : deep registry fix crashes


jgorow
Aug. 17th, 2011, 15:54
having problem with the beta when running the deep registry fix function, crashes everytime I try to run it. if I switch to the regular registry fix scan, runs and fixes just fine. only on the deep scan does it crash.

solbjerg
Aug. 17th, 2011, 16:03
hi jgorow
When?
Is it after you try to clean all "problems" the application has found?
My advice is to go through them and only choose those where you are certain it is alright.
Cheers
solbjerg
p.s. I did not use the deep registry clean in my test, - too much too go through for a quick test, so I ignored that in my first run :-)


having problem with the beta when running the deep registry fix function, crashes everytime I try to run it. if I switch to the regular registry fix scan, runs and fixes just fine. only on the deep scan does it crash.

jgorow
Aug. 17th, 2011, 16:13
crashes during the scan in deep registry fix mode, if I change the registry fix scan to regular it scans fine, only during the deep registry scan does it crash. added info - I just manged to track down where the scan is crashing, it is when it tries to scan the "services" registry keys

sunny staines
Aug. 17th, 2011, 17:54
Never had a problem with reg cleaning in ASC during the various builds over the years which is a good record for IOBIT.

but the beta5 let me down i feel a bit work is needed testing with w7 with the deep scan high priority results, cannot post an image as i had to restore an image of w7 backup to get the pc working again and will leave deep scan option till the next build everything else was ok.

problems were could not open any programs not even system restore had to put in w7 dvd reboot and select restore previous image back up from secondary hdd.

keep up the great work

jgorow
Aug. 17th, 2011, 18:08
trying to do my part to help iron out all the bug, this is my 1st time beta testing an iobit product. I just hope that the tech people at iobit keep up with the board and communicate with us to make sure the final release will be a good and stable product

Toppack
Aug. 17th, 2011, 22:04
Well, I managed to get up the Nerve to try 'Deep Registry Fix' in Deep-Care of ASC-5,
with All setting check-boxes checked. :shock:
And so far I've Not seen any OS or software problems. :-D

Wow, I was surprized that it found nearly 4000 items to be fixed in registry, that ASC-4 did Not find. :shock:
(And it appeared that all of them were really things that were not needed)

scrd01
Aug. 18th, 2011, 17:10
did a deep scan and only removed non OS items, even removed an iobit 1, no problems so far

Roy

j_maybury
Aug. 21st, 2011, 13:03
On every occasion that I have run the 'Deep Registry Fix' an error occurred in the same spot.
It was always at the two thirds marker on 'ActiveX and Component'.
I did notice a white square flash up on the animated magnifying glass icon, at the time of error, is that natural:?:

budda63
Aug. 22nd, 2011, 03:39
On every occasion that I have run the 'Deep Registry Fix' an error occurred in the same spot.
It was always at the two thirds marker on 'ActiveX and Component'.
I did notice a white square flash up on the animated magnifying glass icon, at the time of error, is that natural:?:


I've got the same problem, it's failing every time I try Deep Registry Fix and it works when I try the Quick Care variety of the Registry Fix. Fails about 2/3 of the way through the scan with some sort of out of memory error.

Toppack
Aug. 22nd, 2011, 12:38
I've run ASC-5's 'Deep Registry fix' with 'Deep scan' activated
on four W-7 systems, so far, with No problems.:smile:

budda63
Aug. 22nd, 2011, 17:51
Mine is a 64 bit Vista Home Premium machine. Wondering if that's the difference...

burndog1213
Aug. 26th, 2011, 01:55
On every occasion that I have run the 'Deep Registry Fix' an error occurred in the same spot.
It was always at the two thirds marker on 'ActiveX and Component'.
I did notice a white square flash up on the animated magnifying glass icon, at the time of error, is that natural:?:
I am having the exact same problem. If I go to the settings and disable the 'ActiveX and Component' on it, it runs through fine.
Other than that, everything else seems to work great!

burndog1213
Aug. 26th, 2011, 01:57
Mine is a 64 bit Vista Home Premium machine. Wondering if that's the difference...

That's what I have too.:|

loooping8
Aug. 26th, 2011, 06:20
Never had a problem with reg cleaning in ASC during the various builds over the years which is a good record for IOBIT.

but the beta5 let me down i feel a bit work is needed testing with w7 with the deep scan high priority results, cannot post an image as i had to restore an image of w7 backup to get the pc working again and will leave deep scan option till the next build everything else was ok.

problems were could not open any programs not even system restore had to put in w7 dvd reboot and select restore previous image back up from secondary hdd.

keep up the great work
you are lucky my pc crash even by the 4.0 version but to the restore point i was able to go back to the version 3.8 and this version is just fine and the other versions before 3.8,use it since then with no change to any newer version.anyway the version 3.8 and the past versions have much more options in my view and never ever i had a problem over years.

jgorow
Aug. 26th, 2011, 13:27
my hang happens when i try to do a full deep scan with everything enabled, it hangs when it tries to scan the "services" keys. runs fine through all reg keys when not in deep scan. oh, and I am running on xp sp3

Buddahfan
Aug. 28th, 2011, 18:17
Just a thought on this

I am running 5.0 Beta 1 deep scan on two W7 SP1 x64s and one W7 SP1 x32 without any problems.

To make sure that this problem is not caused by your Windows software you might want to go to Windows Control Panel --- Trouble Shooting ---- System and Security and then select one or more of the options there.

and/or Microsoft Fix It (chrome://ietab2/content/reloaded.html?url=http://support.microsoft.com/fixit/)

After you have run those then try the ASC deep scan again.

Toppack
Aug. 28th, 2011, 19:02
I'm wondering if some of these freezes (hangups) are caused by Log files being too Full.
I recently ran into a problem of Windows-Kernal-errors Event-log-files being full, that caused a real slowdown of W-7.
(After about a year of heavy use of that computer)
The log entries were supposed to be overwritten after they get full,
but it still causes a slowdown.
I fixed it by using 'Event-viewer' to manually Clear all the many Event logs.

You can increase their size, but it's Not as to do as just Clearing them.

I later found a batch-file (.bat) that's supposed to clear them all at the same time,
but I have not tried it yet.

Daskalos
Aug. 29th, 2011, 06:16
I was running "deep care" with XP
It found many mistakes.
but after reboot theres a blue screen with showing many files running up.
Ok XP fixed by herself and now the sytem working faster.
next day i tryed again and all was ok. the windows started faster.

Great program! hope the complete version coming fast

j_maybury
Aug. 31st, 2011, 13:06
Hi me again I forgot to say that my system is also a Vista 64 with Asus P8 p67 pro V3 mobo, and a Intel I5 2500K 3.30 GHz with 8 Gig RAM.
if that helps any,
sorry It took me so long to reply, but I thought, that all your reply's would have come to me through my email, I feel sure that there must be a box somewhere on here I can tick to get this option.
I know I can in the trainz forum, which is identical to this one.:???:

wozofoz
Aug. 31st, 2011, 16:27
......sorry It took me so long to reply, but I thought, that all your reply's would have come to me through my email, I feel sure that there must be a box somewhere on here I can tick to get this option.....

Yes, you can select to have an email sent when a new Reply is posted :smile:
Please read FORUM USAGE GUIDELINES - Read this first (http://forums.iobit.com/showthread.php?p=66600#post66600)

All the best, woz of oz

j_maybury
Aug. 31st, 2011, 17:23
Thanks wozofoz,
But I had a tinker about earlier and found what I thought to be the problem, but your massage did come in handy as it appeared in my email box confirming that I had found the problem.
As Dell Boy would say !!!!!Trifik!!!!!:grin:

Cicely
Sep. 1st, 2011, 02:09
Our engineers have developed a solution to fix this bug, Please have a try.

Please download the ASC.zip and extract it to get ASC.exe.

Download link: http://www.wikisend.com/download/213170/ASC.zip

Then please replace the oringinal ASC.exe in ASC 5 program folder.

Usual path: C:\Program Files\IObit\Advanced SystemCare 5

Lastly, please run Deep Care in ASC 5 and let us know whether it is OK this time.

j_maybury
Sep. 1st, 2011, 10:49
I have replaced the ASC.exe file as you asked, the outcome was very good but slow, then again, after putting 4863 problems right in deep registry fix alone, I think that would take some time in anybodies language. I did not use disk defragment, as smart defrag was already running in auto defrag mode, but I will give it a full run in a couple of days, and keep you posted
I will need to reboot to test this now, as the log report indicated that a disk check was necessary but so far very good.:grin:

Problems Fixed
Security fixed.....................227
Optimizations performed............4863........WOW!!!!!:shock:
Junk files cleaned.................9.81 MB

jgorow
Sep. 2nd, 2011, 04:37
i applied the patch you released as well, and it worked. got through a complete deep registry scan with no crashes or hangs. but, it did take a long time to complete the scan. I have been beta testing the product since the 1st day it was released, I was the 1st person to report this bug, and I am glad to have helped to iron it out. the other bug that I found and reported to you was the bug report function in the program not working properly, is the bug report function dependant on windows having outlook express properly configured as an email client, because i dont, i use web-based hotmail that i access through hotmail's website.

j_maybury
Sep. 2nd, 2011, 17:21
after re-booting the system windows refused to load, it would get as far as the moving bar, then go blank for 10 seconds then came the blue screen of death , I could not fix it, It refused to boot to safe mode as well.
I tryed all the other options but it was hving none of it.
every time I got the BSOD.
the stop code was stop:c000021a the system failure code was 0x00000000 (0xc00000fe 0x001003c8
I did have Norton Internet Security on at the time of the Deep scan.... I forgot to turn it off,:oops: sorry.
could that have been the cause:?:

captainron
Sep. 3rd, 2011, 00:12
after re-booting the system windows refused to load, it would get as far as the moving bar, then go blank for 10 seconds then came the blue screen of death , I could not fix it, It refused to boot to safe mode as well.
I tryed all the other options but it was hving none of it.
every time I got the BSOD.
the stop code was stop:c000021a the system failure code was 0x00000000 (0xc00000fe 0x001003c8
I did have Norton Internet Security on at the time of the Deep scan.... I forgot to turn it off,:oops: sorry.
could that have been the cause:?:



Only drivers or file system corruption can cause that. My guess is a vital registry entry was corrupted or wiped by something that sends data to drivers, like NIS. ASC is known and reported to have features in daily and deep that can kill systems. This is why I only use toolbox stuff.

Victor2k
Sep. 3rd, 2011, 13:56
Baje la actualización de

http://www.wikisend.com/download/213170/ASC.zip

cuando realice la limpieza profunda me indico que hay 4500 errores los limpie y mi sistema no inicio mas

Lo restaure con un el DVD de reparación de Windows 7 (64bits)

Por suerte no perdí ninguna información vital , es la primera vez que me pasa con un producto de IOBit espero que no se vuelva a repetir y encuentren la solucion

Translate to English by google

Download the update

http://www.wikisend.com/download/213170/ASC.zip

deep cleaning when you told me that there are 4500 errors after the cleaning and my system does not start more

Restore it to a DVD repair Windows 7 (64bit)

Luckily I did not lose any vital information, is the first time I passed with a product of IObit hope it does not happen again and find the solution

John Pollitt
Sep. 3rd, 2011, 16:10
I unticked everything else and did a deep scan, found over 1500 problems, seems to have fixed them with no other effects, I am using windows 7. I have tried all the quick care checks and they seem fine up to now. Regards JP

j_maybury
Sep. 3rd, 2011, 20:53
Hi everyone, I am still trying to get up to speed, 117 updates so far and still not up to Vista SP1 yet, about a thousand more updates to go, I think.:roll:
I have still to load ASC & the rest back on.
When I finally get back to were I was, with my computer, is it worth trying deep clean again but with Norton Internet security turned off this time.
Or do you think it's too risky, as it is, and wait for another update:?:

Toppack
Sep. 3rd, 2011, 22:23
I don't think I would try another Deep-clean,
Until you update to Windows-8. :-D

enoskype
Sep. 3rd, 2011, 23:16
Hi j_maybury,

I would certainly update to Vista sp2 and take an image (full backup) of the whole disk (there are free softwares to do that) and try deep scan again.

In that way, you can return to exact state of taking the image if anything unexpected happens.

I wouldn't expect a non-starting Windows. :roll:

FYI, although it was 32 bits version, very recently I have done similar recovery for non-starting original Vista Home basic for a Dell laptop, and updated to sp1 and then sp2, and used all the functions of ASC5 afterwards without a single glitch.
It is working like Clock Work Orange now. :razz:

BTW, did you try the original repair option of Vista entering F8 before reinstalling Windows for recovery?

Cheers.

j_maybury
Sep. 5th, 2011, 00:34
BTW, did you try the original repair option of Vista entering F8 before reinstalling Windows for recovery?

Yep did all that.... Can you recommend a good OS backup utility thats not going to break the bank:?:

enoskype
Sep. 5th, 2011, 00:46
I would recommend Acronis True Image (http://www.acronis.eu/promo/atih2012/ATISpecific/?source=eu_googleATI_b&c=7761615774&k=acronis%20true%20image&gclid=CMWmksbwhKsCFQUYzQodrXpo1A), but since it is a bit on the higher end of the cost scale, they say that free Macrium Reflect (http://www.macrium.com/reflectfree.aspx) is doing the job as good as Acronis. I haven't used it, but could be a good try.

Other alternative for you could be Vista's Complete PC Backup Utility (http://www.zdnet.com.au/using-vistas-complete-pc-backup-utility-339272295.htm).

Cheers.

j_maybury
Sep. 5th, 2011, 01:13
Complete PC Backup and Restore is not included with Windows Vista Home Basic or Windows Vista Home Premium.

:roll: Just my luck.

I'll try the other one... thanks enoskype:grin:

Victor2k
Sep. 5th, 2011, 10:30
http://vypic.com/c/0832b.jpg

Este es el grave problema de la actualización , elimina elementos vitales del registro

Eliminando sistem32/config el sistema no inicia


Es una grave error por parte de los Ingenieros de IOBIT espero que lo arreglen rapidamente



This is the serious problem of the update, delete vital registry keys
eliminating sistem32/config
the system does not start
It is a grave error by IObit Engineers hope to fix it quickly

Toppack
Sep. 5th, 2011, 12:30
WOW! Why would it Do That ? :shock:

I'm wondering what the \??\ mean, in front of path?
Could they be duplicate-entries or copies?
(I've not seen the \??\ before, when doing deep scan)

Slide over the 'Registry data' column, so we can completely read the 'Registry Value' column.
maybe the Registry-value will give us a clue?

Victor2k
Sep. 5th, 2011, 13:34
http://vypic.com/c/b367e.jpg



Sin la actualización desaparece este error , recomiendo no bajar el archivos que antecede en este post y solamente usar el original,Obviamente la cantidad de errores detectados baja considerablemente

Without the upgrade the error disappears, I recommend not download the file above in this post and only use the original,Obviously the number of errors detected significantly lower

enoskype
Sep. 5th, 2011, 16:54
I have tried Deep Scan and then Repair couple of times consecutively cleaninig all the high risk entries until 14 unused file extention low priority registry residues left which appeared all the time after scans.

I have replaced ASC.exe that Cicely has provided, and did a Deep Scan which took almost 5 times more time of the previous scans.

The result is the same exactly 14 unused file extention low priority registry residues.

I believe, all those BSODs, non-starting Windows are not caused by using either ASC.exe of ASC5, but because of some other inconsistencies in those systems.

Note FYI: This test is done for Windows 7 sp1 Professional x32 on a 1.67 GHz single CPU HP laptop with 2GB of RAM, 160+ programs, and with an embedded Virtual Windows XP Pro which was off at the time of the test.
Single HD with partitions of 60GB C: System drive and Virtual XP, and 15GB D: data drive.

Cheers.

Toppack
Sep. 5th, 2011, 17:21
Does anyone know what the \??\ means,
in the Registry-data-path column?

johnsilver52
Sep. 5th, 2011, 20:56
For what it is worth.. Same BSOD after removing one of the critical files you posted Victor.

2 of those system 32 came up in a deep scan with the ASC 5.01 scan and i deleted them without paying attention.

Windows 7/64

Cicely
Sep. 6th, 2011, 09:29
Hi Victor2k,

Thanks for your feedback,:smile: Our engineers have developed a solution to fix it, Please have a try.

Please download the ASC(2).rar from below link and extract it to get ASC.exe.

http://www.wikisend.com/download/311190/ASC(2).rar

Then please replace the oringinal ASC.exe in ASC 5 program folder,

usual path: C:\Program Files\IObit\Advanced SystemCare 5

Lastly, please run the deep care in ASC 5 and let us know whether it is OK this time.:lol:

Victor2k
Sep. 6th, 2011, 11:28
http://vypic.com/c/bf925.jpg

Descargue la nueva actualización, hice el escaneo profundo (dejo la captura) , la cantidad de errores encontrados bajo considerablemente ( de 4100 a menos de 100 ).

Los errores encontrados no eliminan ninguna parte vital del sistema, por lo que el problema se ha solucionado

mis felicitaciones a los ingenieros por la rápida solución

La prueba se realizo en un sistema Windows 7 (64 bits)

--------------------------------------------------------------------


Download the new update, I did the deep scan (I leave the catch), the number of errors found in significantly (from 4100 to less than 100).

Errors found not eliminate any vital part of the system, so the issue is resolved

congratulations to the engineers for the rapid solution

The test was performed on a Windows 7 (64 bit)

enoskype
Sep. 6th, 2011, 20:01
OK, some more data for the last patched version (in post #41 (http://forums.iobit.com/showpost.php?p=66939&postcount=41) by Cicely) of ASC.exe (version: 0.5.1.51) and original ASC.exe (version: 0.5.0.45) for ASC5.

In the system described in my prior post (#38 (http://forums.iobit.com/showpost.php?p=66920&postcount=38)) when only 14 registry inconsistencies are left to be repaired,

1) When Avira's Antivir Guard enabled:

-ASC.exe (0.5.0.45) takes 5 minutes for the deep scan of Registry.
-ASC.exe (0.5.1.51) takes 1 hour 2 minutes for the deep scan of Registry.

2)When Avira's Antivir Guard disabled:

-ASC.exe (0.5.0.45) takes 3 minutes for the deep scan of Registry
-ASC.exe (0.5.1.51) takes 15 minutes for the deep scan of Registry.

All are when only Deep Registry Fix is ticked. CPU usage is 100% all the time during scan. (ASC uses what is left from other processes, including Avira' 35-45% when Guard is enabled.)

Note: The first patched version (in post #22 (http://forums.iobit.com/showpost.php?p=66752&postcount=22) by Cicely) of ASC.exe was (0.5.1.45)

Cheers.

Toppack
Sep. 6th, 2011, 20:08
WOW! That's a BIG Difference !

Cicely
Sep. 7th, 2011, 04:14
Hi enoskype,

The ASC.exe (0.5.1.51) is a bug-fix demo. We used it to look into and solve the bug happened on Victor2k’s computer. So this version recorded the registryfix.log, which affects the program’s performance.

This situation will not happen in our officially released versions. By the way, ASC5 Beta2.0 will be released very soon. You can test it and let us know how it works. :smile:

Thanks for testing the two versions. You always give us valuable suggestions! :-D

stlaker
Sep. 7th, 2011, 10:07
i run a deep every day have had no bugs or any thing y is every one so shy of it?

shujashakir
Sep. 7th, 2011, 11:55
For a couple of times, ASC 5 beta crashed at one particular point while deep registry scan. I restarted my PC and it's working fine now. It found some 2000 errors during the course of scan and I boldly deleted them. So far nothing has gone wrong with my PC configuration:lol:. The product looks excellent.

j_maybury
Sep. 7th, 2011, 18:01
OK, I am back to where I was, with my computer, but I have not loaded Smart Defrag v2, Malware Fighter, or Game Booster v3 back on yet.
I am going to try full deep scan, with my Vista setup and the second of Cicely's ASC.exe fixes. I have backed up my OS with Acronis, do you want me to load the others before I do this, and is there any thing ells you would like before I do this:?:

Oh! by the way, I have found that the IObit pop up message inter fears with the cursor when writing massages like this one, the auto clean pop up message came on to tell me that it had finished while I was typing, and I found my self typing on the keyboard and nothing was happening as the type cursor had vanished.:-o