Facebook   Twitter   Google+   YouTube Get FREE Online Help Free Download IObit Products  

Go Back   IObit.Com Forums > Lounge > Lounge
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

Lounge The Lounge is a place where you can discuss more than our products or non computer related subjects.

Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old Mar. 29th, 2009, 17:27
aho8en aho8en is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: 29 Mar 2009
Posts: 7
Default What happened to my "system restore"?

Hello everyone. To get to system restore (winxp) i use to click start/accessories/system tools/system restore. After installing Advanced SystemCare Pro "system tools/system restore" disappeared. It is not "big" deal because if i need it i click "restore" in SystemCare Pro. Does this happen to everyone? Thanks for the info....


(Advanced SystemCare Pro is rated #1... so far. )
Reply With Quote
  #2  
Old Mar. 29th, 2009, 17:46
detailer's Avatar
detailer detailer is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: 23 Jul 2008
Posts: 1,638
Arrow System Restore

Hi aeo8hn-Take a look at this thread.The command given in my post ends with exe not exc
__________________
Great day and God bless horsepower & Mark Martin
Reply With Quote
  #3  
Old Mar. 29th, 2009, 17:49
solbjerg's Avatar
solbjerg solbjerg is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: 24 May 2007
Posts: 7,196
Default

Hi ahoBen
It is still in my accessories.
I can imagine a couple of possibilities - "unused shortcuts" and "clones/duplicates", if it is one of those or both - one has to look at what it says it will delete in these two areas and place it in the ignore list.
There might be other possibilities, - let's see what your post brings.
Cheers
solbjerg


Quote:
Originally Posted by aho8en View Post
Hello everyone. To get to system restore (winxp) i use to click start/accessories/system tools/system restore. After installing Advanced SystemCare Pro "system tools/system restore" disappeared. It is not "big" deal because if i need it i click "restore" in SystemCare Pro. Does this happen to everyone? Thanks for the info....


(Advanced SystemCare Pro is rated #1... so far. )
__________________
太阳山 (solbjerg)
Ceterum censeo Usage of IObit Products esse legendum
(Furthermore I think that Usage of IObit Products must be read)
Itemized subjects Table of content
In relation to defragmentation Think about defragmentation
Clean Install concept Clean Install
Introduction to the Forum Forum Guidelines
Reply With Quote
  #4  
Old Mar. 29th, 2009, 18:52
enoskype's Avatar
enoskype enoskype is offline
Mediator®
 
Join Date: 27 Oct 2006
Posts: 10,165
Default

Hi aho8en,
Addition to detailer and solbjerg, you can do the following to have the System Restore shortcut in System Tools.

Please check if you have the file:
rstrui.exe
in folder:
C:\WINDOWS\SYSTEM32\Restore

You can create a shortcut, rename it to:
System Restore
and cut it and paste it to folder:
C:\Documents and Settings\{User Name}\Start Menu\Programs\Accessories\System Tools
--------------------------------------

You can repair your System Restore as pointed out in this post in the thread that detailer has linked in post#2 of this thread.

Cheers.
__________________
enoskype

- Beauty lies in the eye of the beholder and belongs to the man who can appreciate it. -
Reply With Quote
  #5  
Old Mar. 29th, 2009, 22:04
aho8en aho8en is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: 29 Mar 2009
Posts: 7
Default

Thanks enoskype, i do have it, but, there was a warning about renaming it, so i didn't. Should i turn off System Restore first. If i do, would there still be a warning? thanks.

Last edited by aho8en : Mar. 29th, 2009 at 22:16.
Reply With Quote
  #6  
Old Mar. 29th, 2009, 22:41
enoskype's Avatar
enoskype enoskype is offline
Mediator®
 
Join Date: 27 Oct 2006
Posts: 10,165
Default

OK aho8en,

I will make it clearer.

Create a shortcut of the rstrui.exe file by right clicking and choosing "Create shortcut" on the menu.

You should not rename rstrui.exe .
Do not turn off System Restore.

Rename the Shortcut of rstrui.exe that you created in the same folder of rstrui.exe, to System Restore . (There will not be a warning for Renaming)

Cut the renamed System Restore and paste it into the System Tools folder which is found by the path:

C:\Documents and Settings\{User Name}\Start Menu\Programs\Accessories\System Tools

When you click start/accessories/system tools, as you defined in post #1, you will find System Restore there.

I hope this helps.

Cheers.
__________________
enoskype

- Beauty lies in the eye of the beholder and belongs to the man who can appreciate it. -
Reply With Quote
  #7  
Old Apr. 29th, 2009, 21:08
aho8en aho8en is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: 29 Mar 2009
Posts: 7
Default

If anyone has a problem with everything or anything missing in start/accessories folder, i found the solution (my entire folder was empty except of system restore, which ya'll explained how to get it back there):

Restore shortcuts to the Accessories group
http://windowsxp.mvps.org/Accessories.htm

Download, unzip, and run it. It corrected it all!

I went to a friends house and I installed the free version of Advanced SystemCare. After running it, I checked if start/accessories was okay... it was... nothing different about it. He really liked it and purchased it. After purchasing it and running it again, again, i checked "start/accessories" and he had the same problem as me. I downloaded the software to "restore shortcuts to the Accessories group" and it worked, just like it did for me. PLEASE, what caused this problem? Thanks.

Last edited by aho8en : Apr. 29th, 2009 at 21:17.
Reply With Quote
Reply


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Get FREE Online Help



Free Download IObit Products




Forum Jump


All times are GMT +0. The time now is 05:07.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.