Facebook   Twitter   Google+   YouTube Get FREE Online Help Free Download IObit Products  

Go Back   IObit.Com Forums > Advanced SystemCare > ASC General Discussions
Register FAQ Members List Calendar Search Today's Posts Mark Forums Read

ASC General Discussions Let's share the unique experience, magic techniques, howtos, solutions and everything of Advanced SystemCare.

 
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
  #1  
Old Sep. 25th, 2009, 21:33
Mike406 Mike406 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: 25 Sep 2009
Posts: 11
Default How to find my Bandwidth?

For internet booster, how do I find out my Bandwidth?

-Mike
  #2  
Old Sep. 25th, 2009, 22:33
solbjerg's Avatar
solbjerg solbjerg is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: 24 May 2007
Posts: 7,220
Default

Hi Mike
If you do not know what connection speed you are paying your service provider for, you can for example check it here:
http://www.speedtest.net/
Cheers
solbjerg


Quote:
Originally Posted by Mike406 View Post
For internet booster, how do I find out my Bandwidth?

-Mike
__________________
太阳山 (solbjerg)
Ceterum censeo Usage of IObit Products esse legendum
(Furthermore I think that Usage of IObit Products must be read)
Itemized subjects Table of content
In relation to defragmentation Think about defragmentation
Clean Install concept Clean Install
Introduction to the Forum Forum Guidelines
  #3  
Old Sep. 25th, 2009, 22:46
Mike406 Mike406 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: 25 Sep 2009
Posts: 11
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by solbjerg View Post
Hi Mike
If you do not know what connection speed you are paying your service provider for, you can for example check it here:
http://www.speedtest.net/
Cheers
solbjerg
I don't know what is correct, depending on what server I choose, I can get up to 20+ megabits, where some servers I only get 6 for my download speed. How am I supposed to get my bandwidth from that?

-Mike
  #4  
Old Sep. 25th, 2009, 22:53
solbjerg's Avatar
solbjerg solbjerg is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: 24 May 2007
Posts: 7,220
Default

Hi Mike
What does it say on your bill that you pay for?
What does the function automatically choose?
enoskype has written several informative posts about this - try finding those with the search function
This one for example:
http://forums.iobit.com/showthread.p...ght=connection
Cheers
solbjerg


Quote:
Originally Posted by Mike406 View Post
I don't know what is correct, depending on what server I choose, I can get up to 20+ megabits, where some servers I only get 6 for my download speed. How am I supposed to get my bandwidth from that?

-Mike
__________________
太阳山 (solbjerg)
Ceterum censeo Usage of IObit Products esse legendum
(Furthermore I think that Usage of IObit Products must be read)
Itemized subjects Table of content
In relation to defragmentation Think about defragmentation
Clean Install concept Clean Install
Introduction to the Forum Forum Guidelines
  #5  
Old Sep. 26th, 2009, 00:08
enoskype's Avatar
enoskype enoskype is offline
Mediator®
 
Join Date: 27 Oct 2006
Posts: 10,289
Default

Thanks solbjerg, I think the best bet for to know the correct broadband speed is to ask the ISP provider the maximum allowable download speed which they made the deal with Mike406.
For all the adjustments in Internet Optimizer, one should know the real max. allowable download speed.
It can be found in the ADSL router by directly making a connection to its IP address, usually 192.168.1.1, using the Admin. name and password.

Cheers.
__________________
enoskype

- Beauty lies in the eye of the beholder and belongs to the man who can appreciate it. -
  #6  
Old Sep. 27th, 2009, 02:54
Mike406 Mike406 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: 25 Sep 2009
Posts: 11
Default

Ok, I called them and figured out that my max download speed possible is 22 megaBITS per second. So for the Internet Booster, are the choices in megaBITS or megaBYTES?

Thanks,
Mike
  #7  
Old Sep. 27th, 2009, 07:01
enoskype's Avatar
enoskype enoskype is offline
Mediator®
 
Join Date: 27 Oct 2006
Posts: 10,289
Default

Kbps=>Kilobits per second.
or,
Mbps=>Megabits per second.

It is shown under "Please choose your bandwidth" as
Your bandwidth : # Kbps
or,
Your bandwidth : # Mbps


Cheers.
__________________
enoskype

- Beauty lies in the eye of the beholder and belongs to the man who can appreciate it. -
  #8  
Old Sep. 27th, 2009, 07:39
solbjerg's Avatar
solbjerg solbjerg is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: 24 May 2007
Posts: 7,220
Default

Hi Mike
Bandwidth is usually measured in bits per second (Kbps-Mbps or Gbps)
If you want to "translate"/approximate that into bytes it is customary to divide the bits by 8 to get the bytes.
Cheers
solbjerg


Quote:
Originally Posted by Mike406 View Post
Ok, I called them and figured out that my max download speed possible is 22 megaBITS per second. So for the Internet Booster, are the choices in megaBITS or megaBYTES?

Thanks,
Mike
__________________
太阳山 (solbjerg)
Ceterum censeo Usage of IObit Products esse legendum
(Furthermore I think that Usage of IObit Products must be read)
Itemized subjects Table of content
In relation to defragmentation Think about defragmentation
Clean Install concept Clean Install
Introduction to the Forum Forum Guidelines
  #9  
Old Sep. 29th, 2009, 20:19
Mike406 Mike406 is offline
Junior Member
 
Join Date: 25 Sep 2009
Posts: 11
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by solbjerg View Post
Hi Mike
Bandwidth is usually measured in bits per second (Kbps-Mbps or Gbps)
If you want to "translate"/approximate that into bytes it is customary to divide the bits by 8 to get the bytes.
Cheers
solbjerg
Ok, I know how to convert them, but what I'm wondering does the Internet Booster ask for your bandwidth in bytes or bits?

-Mike
  #10  
Old Sep. 29th, 2009, 20:43
solbjerg's Avatar
solbjerg solbjerg is offline
Administrator
 
Join Date: 24 May 2007
Posts: 7,220
Default

Ok Mike
Sorry, I thought that was answered
Well - bits
Cheers
solbjerg


Quote:
Originally Posted by Mike406 View Post
Ok, I know how to convert them, but what I'm wondering does the Internet Booster ask for your bandwidth in bytes or bits?

-Mike
__________________
太阳山 (solbjerg)
Ceterum censeo Usage of IObit Products esse legendum
(Furthermore I think that Usage of IObit Products must be read)
Itemized subjects Table of content
In relation to defragmentation Think about defragmentation
Clean Install concept Clean Install
Introduction to the Forum Forum Guidelines
 


Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

vB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Get FREE Online Help



Free Download IObit Products




Forum Jump


All times are GMT +0. The time now is 10:19.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.6.8
Copyright ©2000 - 2014, Jelsoft Enterprises Ltd.