IObit Forum
Top Free Driver Updater Tools Best 25 PC Optimization Software Best 22 Antimalware Best 22 Uninstaller Software IObit Coupons & Discount Offers PC Optimizer Mac Boost Advice IObit Coupons A Good Utility Program From IObit IObit Promo Codes IObit Coupon Codes IObit Coupons and Deals FAQs Driver Booster Pro Review

Very bad experience with ASC Pro v6 and Windows 8

green_bobblin

I have been using ASC for several years, I think since v3 and I have never had a problem, until now. Please forgive the very long post, as I tried to capture all the details so that hopefully this will benefit anyone else who has something similar to report, or whoever may find time to offer me some input.

I recently upgraded my system from Windows 7 to 8. After that, I installed ASC v6 but never did a scan/repair before on my Windows 8 until today. I ran the full scan, along with deep registry clean. The rest of the options were mainly the defaults.

I let the full scan run, along with the repair afterwards. My observations in the past were that ASC automatically creates a restore point or backup before running the repair, so at this point my thinking was that ASC would do the usual backup before applying changes.

The scan+repair completed without any errors, and I restarted my system. During the restart, Windows 8 did a disk scan during bootup (which I assume was triggerred by ASC). I wasn't paying much attention while the system was booting, but I think after the disk scan completed there was another reboot as I heard my computer beep and I was prompted for the power on password.