Jump to content
IObit Forum
Top Free Driver Updater Tools Best 25 PC Optimization Software Best 22 Antimalware Best 22 Uninstaller Software IObit Coupons & Discount Offers PC Optimizer

HELP - How to revert or UNDO the changes made by ASC ?


FON
 Share

Recommended Posts

Hello:

 

Since I installed ASC13 and made some of its optimizations, my computer (win10) is behaving weirdly, like:

 

- Rebooting itself.

 

- Freezing completely (I have to brute-force shutdown).

 

- Slower than before.

 

- Internet disconnecting often (after applying Internet connection optimization)

 

 

Does this program have the option to revert back or undo the changes made??

 

 

Thanks

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Yes it has some options to revert changes. Also you should always have recent restore points available so you can undo issues.

Also, it is totally unnecessary to run every available function of ASC. Only run functions which may resolve problems.

Read the Product Manual....https://www.iobit.com/en/product-manuals.php

Link to comment
Share on other sites

What if you realize that you don’t want to keep your changes to the CONTRIBUTING.md file? How can you easily unmodified it — revert it back to what it looked like when you last committed (or initially cloned, or however you got it into your working directory)? Luckily, git status tells you how to do that, too. In the last example output, the unstaged area looks like this:

 

Changes are not staged for commit:

(use "git add <file>..." to update what will be committed)

(use "git checkout -- <file>..." to discard changes in working directory)

 

modified: CONTRIBUTING.md

It tells you pretty explicitly how to discard the changes you’ve made. Let’s do what it says:

 

$ git checkout -- CONTRIBUTING.md

$ git status

On branch master

Changes to be committed:

(use "git reset HEAD <file>..." to unstage)

 

renamed: README.MD -> README

You can see that the changes have been reverted.

 

Important

It’s important to understand that git checkout — <file> is a dangerous command. Any local changes you made to that file are gone — Git just replaced that file with the most recently-committed version. Don’t ever use this command unless you absolutely know that you don’t want those unsaved local changes.

 

If you would like to keep the changes you’ve made to that file but still need to get it out of the way for now, we’ll go over stashing and branching in ch03-git-branching.asc; these are generally better ways to go.

 

Remember, anything that is committed in Git can almost always be recovered. Even commits that were on branches that were deleted or commit that were overwritten with an --amend commit can be recovered (see ch10-git-internals.asc for data recovery). However, anything you lose that was never committed is likely never to be seen again.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Join the conversation

You can post now and register later. If you have an account, sign in now to post with your account.
Note: Your post will require moderator approval before it will be visible.

Guest
Reply to this topic...

×   Pasted as rich text.   Paste as plain text instead

  Only 75 emoji are allowed.

×   Your link has been automatically embedded.   Display as a link instead

×   Your previous content has been restored.   Clear editor

×   You cannot paste images directly. Upload or insert images from URL.

 Share

×
×
  • Create New...