IObit Forum
Top Free Driver Updater Tools Best 25 PC Optimization Software Best 22 Antimalware Best 22 Uninstaller Software IObit Coupons & Discount Offers PC Optimizer Mac Boost Advice IObit Coupons A Good Utility Program From IObit IObit Promo Codes IObit Coupon Codes IObit Coupons and Deals FAQs Driver Booster Pro Review

Seriously pissed off with IOBits colloboration with ITop

adrewetx

I've been a fan of IOBit for almost 10 years, and held numerous subscriptions.  IoBit has always recommended the occasional app via install, but their latest venture with iTop is going to be hugely damaging to their reputation.  I work in IT, and I'm confident and cautious in ensuring I'm aware of what's being installed, but IOBit is now adopting some very sneaky approaches to the promotion of ITop.

Hidden in the update options, using stealth, I'm now finding numerous ITop apps such as VPN and screen recorders are being installed without my known consent.  Let me be clear, I did not knowingly consent to these being installed, though I'm sure it's there, somewhere in the small print.

Congrats IOBit;  I'm now heavily dependent on IObit uninstaller to keep removing the iTop apps you install.   

I won't be renewing with IOBit again.  They've crossed the line.

• Like 4
  • Thanks 1

Hi adrewetx and Martin Konopko,

Sorry to bring you nconvenience.

At present, we are partnered with iTop VPN to help promote its product iTop VPN, which can provide private access to the Internet with military-grade protection.

I have forwarded your concern to our product team and market team. They will consider this kind of marketing activities and make a better balance in future.

And you can always refuse to install it or you can remove it if you installed it accidently. 

Have a good time!

On 9/6/2021 at 4:59 AM, Cicely said:

I have forwarded your concern to our product team and market team. They will consider this kind of marketing activities and make a better balance in future.