Jump to content
IObit Forum
Top Free Driver Updater Tools Best 25 PC Optimization Software Best 22 Antimalware Best 22 Uninstaller Software IObit Coupons & Discount Offers PC Optimizer

Do not want scheduled/auto defrag at all.


masterblaster

Recommended Posts

I need to have an option to not allow auto or scheduled defrag at all. In going through the settings it seemed to give me several options to extend the length inbetween defrags, but no option to not allow it.

I don't want any idle defrag or scheduled defrag at all.

I use a program called Rollback RX and once this is installed, you should never defrag your HDD.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Version 2.3

 

Version 2.3 ?

 

Here are my settings and it seems to be fully manual operation.

 

http://forums.iobit.com/attachment.php?attachmentid=9589&stc=1&d=1331317347

 

http://forums.iobit.com/attachment.php?attachmentid=9590&stc=1&d=1331317347

 

http://forums.iobit.com/attachment.php?attachmentid=9591&stc=1&d=1331317347

 

http://forums.iobit.com/attachment.php?attachmentid=9592&stc=1&d=1331317944

 

All the best, woz of oz

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Main UI

 

I have Boot Time Defrag set to Only next boot

But, the Boot Time Defrag will only be initiated (started at next boot) if the main UI is set to Yes (see first image above)

 

After changing your settings to your liking, the Main UI is where you turn the Automatic and Boot Time on or off by clicking to toggle Yes or No

 

 

Suggestion for IObit:

Now that I look at it again I do think it would be a good idea to have the option of Never or Off in the Boot Time settings to avoid confusion. (See image below)

 

http://forums.iobit.com/attachment.php?attachmentid=9596&stc=1&d=1331357280

 

Also:

1) If the user has Boot Time Defrag set to Never and later clicked and toggled the main UI option to Yes the Boot Time Defrag settings window would open so the user could change the setting.

 

The same would happen when the user toggled the Automatic Defrag option to Yes

 

2) If the user has Boot Time Defrag set to Every Boot (or whatever) and later clicked and toggled the main UI option to Yes a ToolTip window would pop up showing the current setting with a Click here to change the setting link.

 

The same would happen when the user toggled the Automatic Defrag option to Yes

 

http://forums.iobit.com/attachment.php?attachmentid=9597&stc=1&d=1331359630

 

 

All the best, woz of oz

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Hi masterrblaster and wozofoz

I agree somewhat that it may not be quite intuitive, but after the settings have been chosen, I think that the choosing of Yes or No cannot be much simpler than it is - it only requires a simple click :-)

And if you leave it at that you do not have to touch it again unless you want to change the settings. :-)

Cheers

solbjerg

 

wozofoz,

Thanks again for the great detail. I am fairly computer literate and this is not intuitive at all. There should be a much simpler way to turn off scheduled and idle time defrags with a simple click .

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Hi masterrblaster and wozofoz

I agree somewhat that it may not be quite intuitive, but after the settings have been chosen, I think that the choosing of Yes or No cannot be much simpler than it is - it only requires a simple click :-)

And if you leave it at that you do not have to touch it again unless you want to change the settings. :-)

Cheers

solbjerg

 

I disagree with the statement that choosing the color bar YES or NO couldn't be much simpler. I didn't know that it was selectable. I thought it was for information like most programs. Yes, that's simple but how would a new user to the program know to click on it?

 

I agree once it's setup it's one click to operate. I had no issues with that.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Hi masterblaster

You are right that the Yes and No isn't explained in the window --

But in the same window it does say

either

Automatic Defrag is activated on this volume - Turn Off - Configure

or

Automatic Defrag is not activated on this volume - Turn On - Configure

and once you turn it Off or On by clicking the Turn/off/on - you will see the Yes or No change colour.

So you do not necessarily have to know the shortcut you get by by clicking the Yes or No but can utilize the command shown in the window Turn Off or Turn On

Cheers

solbjerg

 

 

 

I disagree with the statement that choosing the color bar YES or NO couldn't be much simpler. I didn't know that it was selectable. I thought it was for information like most programs. Yes, that's simple but how would a new user to the program know to click on it?

 

I agree once it's setup it's one click to operate. I had no issues with that.

Link to comment
Share on other sites

Archived

This topic is now archived and is closed to further replies.

×
×
  • Create New...