IObit Forum
Top Free Driver Updater Tools Best 25 PC Optimization Software Best 22 Antimalware Best 22 Uninstaller Software IObit Coupons & Discount Offers PC Optimizer Mac Boost Advice IObit Coupons A Good Utility Program From IObit IObit Promo Codes IObit Coupon Codes IObit Coupons and Deals FAQs Driver Booster Pro Review

[2.Bi-Weekly]ASC, S360, AdAware, Spybot, and others

Hi Gang,

I'm a builder/repair guy, and my clientele is mostly senior citizens, so I'm gonna come at this from a slightly different angle. The parameters for my experiment are as follows:

Assumption #1: Seniors, for the most part, have very limited computer skills. I teach classes to seniors, and their biggest request is always "how do I download something?" So assuming they'll try any of these products is an extreme stretch. Unless someone like me does so for them.

Assumption #2: Seniors are terrified at the stuff they hear about, on the internet (ie viruses, malware, adware, and such). They want badly to download and install various software defenses, but even after spending time teaching them how to do it, most just don't have the balls to actually do it.

Assumption #3: Even if they do have the skills, it's difficult for them to decided which product(s) to use. They tend to arrive at Norton & McAfee, because (a) that's what their computer manufacturer recommends, and (b) that's what all their friends are using.

Assumption #4: The word "free" has obvious negative connotations. And when they DO decide to buy, they get fished for an arm and a leg, and more importantly, they get pissed when someone like me goes through their computers and finds all the ugly stuff that Norton, or McAfee missed.

One Sidenote: I find the ugly stuff when I get the computer with the complaint that "it's creep crawly slow", which is a direct result of the Norton and such, to begin with.

On to the test.