IObit Forum
Top Free Driver Updater Tools Best 25 PC Optimization Software Best 22 Antimalware Best 22 Uninstaller Software IObit Coupons & Discount Offers PC Optimizer Mac Boost Advice IObit Coupons A Good Utility Program From IObit IObit Promo Codes IObit Coupon Codes IObit Coupons and Deals FAQs Driver Booster Pro Review

Only scanning one user's files

jiriji

I've been using AWC for several months but only ever running it when i was logged in, not other users. I've been very happy but yesterday it suddenly occurred to me that all directories mentioned in the report were under my user name. My husband uses this computer as much as i do (we both have the same administrative privileges), so i felt sure that at least some cookies should relate to his internet use. On a hunch i asked him to run AWC while he was logged in as the user and, lo and behold, it detected a bunch of spyware and cookies, and freed up a phenomenal amount of disk space.

I would have thought that any user (but not Guest) logged in to any computer where AWC is installed should be able to run the program and have it scan the entire computer, not just the particular user's directories.

Can anyone tell me how to remedy this? I have looked under all settings and options and cannot find anywhere that says exactly which parts of the computer are scanned.

Thanks for help.

Thanks for the response. I have finally got my husband to co-operate and he is now running the program himself when he's logged in :shock:

However, i think consumers should be made aware that AWC does not scan the entire computer. I bet there are others like me who think their computers are being completely scanned, when in fact AWC is only scanning files related to the person logged in.

This is an important security issue, don't you think?

About user accounts: Another user may find it irritating that all his cookies and privacy settings are being tampered with?