IObit Forum
Top Free Driver Updater Tools Best 25 PC Optimization Software Best 22 Antimalware Best 22 Uninstaller Software IObit Coupons & Discount Offers PC Optimizer Mac Boost Advice IObit Coupons A Good Utility Program From IObit IObit Promo Codes IObit Coupon Codes IObit Coupons and Deals FAQs Driver Booster Pro Review

Unmovable files and SmartDefrag 2.x

RHMA

Unmovable files and SmartDefrag 2.x  

19 members have voted

You do not have permission to vote in this poll, or see the poll results. Please sign in or register to vote in this poll.

I've been using Smart Defrag for a couple years now and I've been very happy. Unfortunately, I've been much less impressed with the latest versions starting with 2.0. This version seems to mark significant portions of the hard disk as unmovable. By significant I mean in the range of 20%-30% of the total storage space. These unmovable blocks are sometimes scattered throughout the drive, making defragmentation of free space difficult to accomplish.

In an effort to find a solution to the issue myself, I've installed smart defrag on several pcs to test results. In every case, there are excessive unmovable blocks marked. I've tried the suggested solutions/troubleshooting steps, including disabling system restore, running a boot time defrag, and even using PerfectDisk to try to identify the files in question. In the case of the last example, PerfectDisk doesn't agree that those files are unmovable. It does mark part of the drive as "ignored" but it is a much smaller portion of the drive. I have to say that it's unfortunate that these forums are suggesting other defragmenters as a tool to diagnose problems with smartdefrag, because now I might just stick with PerfectDisk since it does more and seems to work as I expect it to. I would suggest you add features to your product to make identifying these unmovable blocks feasible without using a competing product.