IObit Forum
Top Free Driver Updater Tools Best 25 PC Optimization Software Best 22 Antimalware Best 22 Uninstaller Software IObit Coupons & Discount Offers PC Optimizer Mac Boost Advice IObit Coupons A Good Utility Program From IObit IObit Promo Codes IObit Coupon Codes IObit Coupons and Deals FAQs Driver Booster Pro Review

Another registry defrag issue

gaaralol101

I've been using the same computer for about 4 years or so, and I've never run a registry defrag before. I have been keeping the pc healthy with normal defrag's and disk cleanups however.

When I ran the registry defrag, it seemed to find quite a lot of things to repair. So I restarted the computer, and let it do its thing. However my computer wasn't able to turn back on. Long story short, I was able to go in safe mode and back up my data, but I had to reinstall my OS. On the positive side, it gave me a reason to ditch that junk-heap they call vista and install windows 7.

As frustrating as that was, I still do like ASC. I did notice a performance increase as I was completing the tasks, one by one. (I saved the registry defrag till last). So my main question is: Is it safe to run a registry defrag again? Should I even bother? Is the registry defrag faulty? I've noticed a few other users have had the same problem with the registry defrag, with problems arising so I'm kind of hesitant about trying it again.

Hi gaaralol101

Welcome

Sorry to hear you had a problem. I am unsure what you actually did as your statement...

"When I ran the registry defrag, it seemed to find quite a lot of things to repair. So I restarted the computer, and let it do its thing."....is a bit confusing.

When the registry defrag found items to repair...did you repair them??? and then restart your pc??..or did you immediately restart your pc without doing the repair first??

I also strongly suggest that you disable Deep Clean in your registry fix settings, if it is enabled, asit is unnecessary for normal operation.